Art and science

Bellringing can be described as both an art and a science; the music of the bells and listening as you ring, and then the study of the mathematical complexities of change ringing. I just love the sound and have always enjoyed the physical action plus the team element. My sister is very actively involved and invited me to go along to a practice night so off we went. I was pleased to find my ringing skills, although very rusty, were still there and enjoyed it very much. Here the band are ringing the bells down at the end of the practice which is why all the 'sallies' (stripey, fluffy bits) are pretty much at the same level at the same time and looking so photogenic.

We tried to get a good Devon cream tea today but sadly failed, although my great nephew of very nearly 3yrs old (birthday tomorrow) enjoyed our trip out as the place had a few little animals to look at. The weather has been thankfully mostly dry - until tonight. The rain just seems to keep on coming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.