Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Recalled to life ...

Not that there was much in the way of recalling - just a lessening of the horrid dizzy symptoms and a great need to get out of the house. I was relieved that we both seemed a tad better this morning - I was left with a strange headache that felt like a tight hat on the top of my head, and Himself had coughed all night after not taking the co-codamol (and was I glad he's in the other room?) But my headache dissipated through the morning and by afternoon I was determined to have a walk.

Because I was still a little nervous of driving anywhere, I rang my friend who lives on the East Bay shore road and checked that tea and sympathy might be an option, took another Lateral Flow test as a gesture towards being a good visitor, and headed out. It seemed to have turned into winter since I was out earlier in the week, and I wished I had taken a hat. I stopped briefly to chat to a wee lady who commented on the cold, took this photo of one of the sad reminders, now fenced off completely,  of Dunoon's bustling past as a seaside resort, when people swarmed along the prom, took out boats and sat on the beaches, and turned at the sign that marks the boundary with Kirn - just a short walk. I also noticed a hunter-killer submarine - perhaps the same one that went downriver the other day, perhaps not - and marvelled at how close to the town it passes. I read today in The Scotsman that the base at Faslane could well be threatened by rising sea levels ...

My friend was engaged in moving an antique wardrobe, with the assistance of two friends, so I was handed a mug of tea and chat went on round the exertions and the planning and the discussion of colour schemes; it was great to be briefly involved in something other than introspection. I walked home under a marvellous sky, one photo of which I'll add as an extra. 

In other news, my driving licence arrived at last; my old one expired at the end of September and I applied for the replacement in August. I booked a slot at a booster vaccination clinic for Saturday - Himself will have to wait till he's better. I wrote a poem about gas flaring in Nigeria, and I checked the Keynote slide show for the talk I'm doing online later this month on Poetry and Faith. It's a good sign that I'm becoming excited about it again.

Now, our greatest need is that I get to the supermarket. Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.