Theleens

By Theleens

Tailor's Mannequin

Two very special older ladies and a dear friend gave me a birthday gift many moons ago. It is one of my treasured possessions because it reminds me of them and their good company.

The birthday gift was a tailors mannequin. You see, Aunty D and Mrs M were sisters and worked as seamstresses in London's Bond Street in the 1960's. They often talked about what it was like in those days; of the shops that dressed London's main streets, of the clothes styles and the ballrooms and the dancing. And the London smog, before smokeless fuel had been invented!

Eventually, they married and settled down in Kent. Both ladies continued to make clothes. My best friend's mum, Mrs M, had a knack of making something out of nothing and with a few simple pieces of material she would make items such as a pair of flowy trousers or a jacket down to the knees, with a crisp mandarin collar. Underneath the jacket, Mrs M would wear a simple t-shirt in the Summer or a trim turtleneck in the winter. More months than not she would wear stylish flip-flop sandals and always managed to wear the perfect jewellery: not too much not too little. Her hair was short and had that wonderful grey shine to it, like Dame Judi Dench. Her eyes were sparkling-blue and her skin tanned from spending hours and hours in the garden. Of all things, she had a smile that could warm any heart.

Mrs M would occasionally make clothes for me, especially skirts and blouses. I had a thing (and still do) for Audrey Hepburn's style. I loved clothes from the 1950/60's's when women wore 27' pencil skirts, high collared shirts and 3-inch court shoes. My Mum used to look amazing in those early photos, which must have left a lasting impression on me.

Anyways, one birthday, when we were visiting the home of Mr & Mrs M, I was told to close my eyes and wait in the living room. I did as I was told. I heard a bit of shuffling going on, some giggling and then 'OK, you can open your eyes'. In front of me was a tailor's mannequin but one covered in sheet music. I looked the mannequin up and down, in awe, smiled quizzically and asked 'It's wonderful! Though why sheet music and what's she for?

Aunty D and Mrs M said they knew how much I loved music as well as Mrs M's sewing skills, and that Aunty D had lots of sheet music belonging to her late husband who was a trumpet player. So, they decided to tear up the sheet music, stain it with teabags, let it dry, apply it to the mannequin then seal the sheet music with thick brown varnish. They repeated this process three times until every inch of the mannequin was rock solid and became a musical collage.

One piece of sheet music was kept entirely intact and was on the reverse of the mannequin and appeared to be from a vintage concert programme.

And the use of this mannequin? Well, Aunty D and Mrs M thought it would be perfect to house all my costume necklaces and bracelets. I was amazed at their workmanship and their kindness, not to mention the weeks of preparation that went into making this mannequin look so, well, classy!

That birthday was probably seven or eight years ago but I remember it like it was yesterday.

This little story is dedicated to three wonderful women.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.