Theleens

By Theleens

Franklin Street Works

I took a stroll this bright Saturday afternoon, with the intent of discovering the Stamford Arts Association (SAA) and the Mill River Park. I am in search of art institutions in Stamford and, more especially, cafe's where one can sit, enjoy the art on the walls, be creative and hopefully meet other people in a convivial environment.

Franklin Street is close to home. The website for SAA states that the Association occupies a townhouse, has a cafe and a gallery and is open on Saturdays and Sundays between 12 and 3pm. Perfect!

So, off I traipsed, rather excited by this little adventure and a hope to see some more art. I arrived at a cluster of townhouses, saw the sign for the SAA, went up the stairs and pushed the door open. It was locked! How disappointing.

Resigned, I turned to walk down the steps and as I did so I surveyed the other townhouses. To my right was a sign which read 'Franklin Street Works' and a small neon sign saying 'cafe' lounging along the window sill like a cat.

Second try. The door opened. What a wonderful space inside: clean lines, white walls, wooden flooring and gentle lights shining on the bright steel tables and chairs of a cafe in the corner. There was some art on the walls but the staff explained that they were preparing for their next exhibition, thus things were a little topsy turvy today.

They were most helpful and happy for me to walk around, even go downstairs where the creative director Terri Smith was preparing for the exhibition. Terri was very generous in giving her time and we had a very intresting chat. Asked if she had any objections to my taking pictures, Kerri was more than happy for me to take some, and even suggested I take photos of their shed outside, newly constructed and part of their next exhibition.

I enjoyed taking photos both in and outside this art space, having time for a coffee and a chocolate brownie, and delighting in this new oasis.

An hour or so later I thanked them, said I would be back again soon and strolled over to the Mill River Park to get a sense of just how big this renovation project is. It's pretty huge, I can tell you, but I can't wait for it to open in May.

All in all, a good day for visiting other parts of Stamford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.