Rock Around the Clock

A busy day today, a bit dull and drizzly too. A humanist funeral service this morning for an elderly neighbour - I can't imagine my friends and family coming up with such a huge fund of amazing stories about me! He had a very busy and interesting life!

After lunch I drove along Gallanach Road, the single track coast road south of Oban, to follow up a report that there had been a rockfall at 6am today. There was a large rock in the road and even if the road hadn't been closed it would be impossible to get by! The barriers stretched right across the road with a 'No Public Access' sign, so although I did have a quick poke beyond the barrier I didn't go further as I didn't want to get shouted at!

I drove the several miles around to reach the site from the other end where there was a barrier, but no sign, so I felt OK with walking in there. You could see the trail where the rock had come crashing down through the trees. Another smaller rock had fallen further along in someone's garden, missing their washing line pole by a couple of feet and knocking some of the garden wall down. Apparently the lady had been advised to take herself elsewhere for a while!

My extra today shows the nearby house - the fallen rock is along by the 'Passing Place' sign. High above the house you can see the area where the rock had come from. Somebody will have to make a decision on what to do! Glad it's not me.

Fireworks in Oban tonight - we'll go along to McCaig's Tower where we should get a good view!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.