Time to say goodbye

This morning Mrs M and I had a leisurely drive down Glen Lonan en route to the polytunnels. I'd hoped to see some good autumn colour and maybe take some photographs, but the sun was in and out and though it was quite pleasant, most of the colour came from forestry larch.

I'd finally decided to give up my last remaining veggie bed in the polytunnel, for several reasons. Firstly it's a 30-mile round trip, which is a long way to go to pick a tomato. (OK, I never did that!) Secondly since the watering system was changed from overhead sprays to seep hoses it's always been unreliable, blocking up constantly. Thirdly on hot days the temperature can be unbearable - up to 48 degrees - and since the change from overhead watering, red spider mite has become more common. Finally, I have to admit to preferring to work in a tidier environment!

So we took out all the remaining plants, harvested the small crop of Oca, a few last tiny tomatoes and stray potatoes and cleaned up the bed. I shall miss the slow drives down Glen Lonan, but we can do that without an excuse anyway!

A gloriously sunny drive home with some amazing clouds over Loch Etive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.