Lakeland Classics

A day of excesses today. 

I walked Hollie dog down to the shore of Coniston Water before breakfast. Classic Lakeland weather, low cloud blanketing the hills and Grisedale Forest peering at us through the gloom on the opposite shore. 

A brilliant display of powerboats skimming across the mirror smooth waters, participants in the Speed Trials week which has seen many records broken. I got some stunning images with the Nikon and the big lens, maybe back blip for tomorrow as the forecast is for 100% precipitation. 

After a bacon  breakfast provided by the ever talented and forgiving Mrs I, I went alone to Skelwith Bridge to photograph the raging River  Brathay as it crashes through the bottleneck known as Skelwith Force. 

The woodland colours were sublime, glowing gold and brown despite the low light and pervasive mist. Glorious Autumn Lakeland conditions. I can't get enough. I am constantly overwhelmed by the drama and beauty of this amazing place. 

My blip is an achingly beautiful view of the Langdale Pikes over the quiet waters of the Brathay, as it drains the flow from Elterwater. 

The extra is Skelwith Force, just breathtaking energy in these turbulent waters. I have used filters to enhance the detail in the water, hence the slightly unreal colours. Apologies. 

Back to the holiday lodgings and a splendid hour in the hot tub. Pummelled by the aquajets, followed by a stinging hot shower. 

Followed by a sumptuous hot meal provided by the best wife any man could ask for. 

Followed by a chilled beer to end a day of wonder, beauty and a huge sense of being blessed. 

What more could I say. 

What more could I ask for.. 

Not a lot! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.