Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Speaking of Morris Minors . . .

. . . . as we were yesterday - here is my first ever car. I was 18 in 1967 and had just started teaching secondary Maths and Science (did my training at night – crazy system) and I needed a car to drive to and from the school and to college at night.

It was a 1953 Morris Minor and was already 14 years old when I bought it for $140 (10 times my weekly pay). It was lucky we lived on the top of the hill because, for some of its life, I had to let it roll down the hill a little and then clutch-start it. A couple of times, driving home at night after squash, I had to push it onto the side of the road because it stalled trying to go up the hill to our house. I had to let it cool down, start it again, do a U-turn, and then another and then try and pick up more speed before attempting the hill again. That finally did the trick.
 
I loved that old car. My students called it ‘Baby Blue’. It had been painted. It wasn’t blue duco. (I have colourised the photo but haven’t quite get the blue right.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.