Dexter and Eight Ball

Meet Dexter the Tabby's little friend, Eight Ball the Duckie. The duckie got his name because of the numeral eight which appears on his chest; with his color and that number and his round shape, he much resembles an eight ball used in pool games.

I found Eight Ball along the stream banks at Millbrook Marsh a year or two ago and brought him home. Dexter immediately adopted him . . . and you know how duckies are about imprinting, even on Tabbies.

Earlier in life, Eight Ball had a career as a racing duck. I like to think that - like they do with greyhounds - we rescued him after his racing career was done. So Eight Ball is a rescue duck.

In this photo, Dexter is pretending he doesn't notice the duckie. But in a moment, that white paw is going to extend - THWAP! - and tap that poor little duckie into the drink! (I run a few inches of water into the sink before we begin the game.)

And I will fish him out. And put him back on the counter. Where a white paw will once again extend - THWAP! This is a process that is repeated many, MANY times each morning, as Dexter keeps me company while I am showering and getting ready for work.

You may recognize the blue sink (beneath that ragged yellow towel that Dexter loves to lie on) as the site of many of my little photo shoots. Although obviously when I use it for a photo shoot, it isn't usually covered in Tabby (though he frequently makes a guest appearance) - and I move all that other stuff too. Someday, I'd like a better - more permanent - photography studio, no matter how small.

The song to accompany this is Rubber Duckie, from Sesame Street. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.