There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Blue Tree Swallow of Happiness

We had an unusual bout of two weeks of summer-like warmth, for March, followed by several very cold nights. Thursday morning was quite chilly when I took a quick morning walk along the boardwalk at Millbrook Marsh.

This little bird, all fluffed up to keep warm, was perched on the wooden bridge over Thompson Run. It was alone, as was I, and it allowed me to get quite close.

A breeze ruffled its feathers, and the morning light showed off its brilliant, shining blues and teals, as I - hypnotized, mesmerized - stood and snapped away with my camera.

I thought it might be a bluebird (perhaps even that mythical bluebird that is a symbol of happiness, good health, and prosperity), but my friends who are bird experts inform me it is a tree swallow.

And so it was that I was visited by the blue tree swallow of happiness on a brisk March morning . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.