Sprout lover

By robharris35

Mountains

‘Only the mountains never meet again’, said Wim, over lunch as he was passing through Maputo. A surprising reference to an African proverb, but I agreed with him that it’s a shame to break up our good groove of getting things done on the Niassa project. Unfortunately we have an organisation based elsewhere to contend with. My role buffers him from the complexities of getting decisions and approvals from Cambridge, which feels a distant place to be controlling day-to-day activities in Mozambique. The increasing difficulty of this structure is one of the principal reasons I’ve decided to leave, and my resignation letter explained that the top heavy model was a risk to achieving the organisation’s charitable mission.

After lunch with Wim, I had an afternoon of shepherding decisions through and extracting sensible answers from Cambridge.

If this blog turns into a ‘reasons for leaving my job’ soliloquy in the coming weeks, I ask for patience. I will merely be processing a morass of thoughts.

I like Maputo a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.