Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Tiding over

When I got up this morning I spotted a flood warning for the North Norfolk coast.  Apparently they were expecting an additional half metre tidal surge over the normal high tide, which itself was one of the highest of the year.  The time of the highest level was only half an hour away so I quickly pulled on some clothes and W and I drove down to Blakeney for a look.

It was certainly the highest I have seen it there.  The marsh was completely flooded and the road around the harbour was impassable.  I walked out onto the very cold and windy sea wall to take a few shots including the first extra of the derelict barge which is normally accessible on foot.  The other shots were taken around what is normally the car park; thankfully, no-one had left their cars there overnight.  Afterwards, we noticed that the new bakery in Blakeney was open so I bought a fresh sourdough loaf and we came home to a warming breakfast of bacon sandwiches!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.