Herbst

This afternoon/evening I made River Cafe's winter minestrone... in autumn. 

Why? Well, I have (or rather "had") a huge amount of Swiss chard in the garden needing to be cut and used. Swiss chard is a basic of the recipe. 

I hate to have to say this, but it turned out really well. Quite a bit of preparation is required to wash all the chard, then separate the stems from the leaves, then shred the leaves and finally chop the stems. And the same with the cavolo nero...   

It was worth it. Between those two veggies plus carrots, celery and garlic as well as the tomato based liquid, you get some amazing flavours and textures.  

A good therapy on a dark, wet evening. The best bit was I remembered to go out and cut the chard before dark. 

Now I am about to make a tikka paste to marinade chicken for tomorrow. Stand by for updates...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.