Party!

It was birthday eve last night and I was treated to a very special meal in Ilkley and came home to have a double check of the weather and confirm my last minute birthday party plans.  

Q. Where do you go to party on a WNW and receive your virtual party badge? 
A. Silverdale

It was the perfect line home.  I just needed the weather to do what it said.  We headed over in a hefty drizzle with Rich trying to convince me that the rain looked worse on the windscreen heading into the gale! Five miles from Silverdale and you could see patches of high cloud in front of blue sky.  Determination was paying off!

It seemed further in the car than it does on the train and I was hoping there was no residue cold still lurking in my muscles.  Leaving Rich and Little Dog to the seaside, I was sent on my way.  After weaving southwest to Carnforth, I took a lovely line on the outskirts of the Forest of Bowland where the wind-assist came into its own.  I had one patch of drizzle sweeping past and then the sun started gaining momentum and by the time I was here, entering the Yorkshire Dales, well, you can see what happened - It was my lucky day and I was feeling good!

I swooped around to the right just before Pen-y-ghent and headed into Settle.  I was trying to coordinate lunch with Rich as Little Dog would rather wait in the car for me to come back than have her own party with Rich on the beach so they did 100m twice before she refused to leave the boot at the third venue and they headed home.  Unfortunately, we managed to miss each other (which was probably better for pooch than have me leave again) so I stopped at Airton for a cafe break before doing the last 25miles home.

I arrived home to very thoughtful birthday touches, including lovely messages, candles and dinner cooked.  We watched Strictly from last night and fitted in an episode of Call My Agent. 

It was the ultimate introvert's party. What a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.