Beinghere

By Beinghere

Maggie Day

A great day with Maggie. I picked her up from nursery at lunchtime and walked home our usual route, because we have things we like to see. Cooper, one of Geordie’s friends was lying on his window sill when we passed. He got very excited to see us, so his mum put his lead on and brought him out to see us. Maggie loved it.
Our afternoon was busy with Smoothies and games and Cocomelon on Netflix. After tea when we sat down Maggie told me to wait until she put my hot water bottle at my back. Then she said, “my best Nana ever” and kissed me. She’s a wee treasure.
She always has her tea set in the bath with her and pours me cups of “tea with milk”. I wait until she’s not looking and pour it down the sink, give her my empty cup and tell her it was lovely. As most of us will have done at some point with children.
Tonight when I gave her the cup back she looked at it and said, “Aw Nana, you don’t need to drink it, it’s bath water, just pretend”. Silly Nana!

At bedtime I was settled between her and Geordie on the bed, and had been reading for less than five minutes, when Maggie said, “No more stories Nana, I tired”. I said, “What about Geordie?” She replied, “He’s tired too”.

Well, that was me, surplus to requirements, and I hadn’t even got to the good bits in the book, or sung the songs. Ah well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.