Tiny Tuesday . . . Thimbles

Last week I had a fossick through my jewellery box and took three things down to the local manufacturing jeweller.  I figure there is no point in things sitting in a box and not being worn.  I'm also repurposing an object rather than buying a new item.  These are two thimbles my mother in law gave me.  I should have written down what she told me about them because now I can't remember.  One of them has the name Dorcas on it.  The Dorcas thimbles were manufactured by Charles Horner of Halifax.  In 1884 he patented the process of a sandwich of steel and sterling silver to make a strong thimble.  I asked the jeweller  to put a fitting at the top so a chain could be threaded through.  They are now a piece of jewellery to wear.  I can't tell you anymore or I would have to kill you.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.