Dimàirt

I was planning on doing housework this morning but got sidetracked into my family history. I have been researching the lives of my Robbins ancestors from County Offaly and other families of the same name in Dundee, also from County Offaly. A fellow family historian from Idaho has carried out extensive research into Robbins families in Offaly and Westmeath.  He contacted me through Ancestry and shared his tree which has a wealth of information - he has tracked down many more Irish records and had also discovered that my great  great grandmother Bridget's brother Patrick had joined the army and died in the poor house in Craiglockhart, near where I lived and worked. A fascinating morning with more records to study.

However I had to stop for lunch then a most enjoyable walk to  my Pitlochry Book Group where we had been reading "The Way of the Flesh" by Ambrose Parry. We mostly enjoyed it and it prompted a good discussion. 

I  had to leave early to get back for my online Gaelic Class. Not only did we have to say what we did at the weekend but had to ask others about their weekends.  Moving from set conversations to more natural ones really makes you think and whilst harder will make for better learning.  I have also found it useful writing a couple of sentences in Gaelic about each day here on blip and will continue doing so but without the translations (which will usually be covered in the "Beurla"* text). 

Dimàirt: Bha clàs gàidhlig ann feasgar an-diugh. Bha e a' còrdadh rium. Leugh sinn "Ròna agus MacCodruim".| It was Gaelic Class this afternoon, I enjoyed it. We read Rona and MacCodrium

*english

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.