Call of the Wild

I think though I maybe wrong that my pheasant here was shouting to the short-eared owls in transit over the Atlantic to, 'Clear Orf!' in that high pitched tone they have. 

I went to my usual spot on the Cotswold hills and saw just a few people I only see in the winter months because of the owls which were none existent. It is early doors at the moment.

The shorties are such a pull to this area and I even had a phone call today from a Brummie birder I met a few years ago asking if I'd seen any. Sadly I haven't and what's worse is that I don't feel confident they are going to rock up either. They didn't last year. Who, whooo knows? It could be a weather issue or a vole issue or better pickings elsewhere. Obviously I'm keeping my fingers and toes crossed as for me it absolutely makes the winter months going out to shoot such a stunning bird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.