Wood Mouse

I had high hopes for today and also thinking third time lucky but no. The bird that I was stalking like the other two over the last seven days had vanished into the ether. This doesn't happen to me like this as a rule - in fact I nearly always get my quarry!

I started off the day by getting to my desired location and schmoozing the farmer's wife got myself by their lake with long lens and tripod. Nearly three hours later getting quite cold and no sign of the bird I called it a day. I had to smile as one very unlucky punter there who had come down from Yorkshire wanted access but he had already blotted his copybook by crossing onto the farmers land to talk to me. Nope he was told to sling his hook;  a quite appropriate phrase for where he was. 

Getting home ...

By the back door there are a pile of fig tree leaves and in and amongst ....a wood mouse. 

The rest of the time on the phone sorting parents Care Pendants yet again with 35 minutes spent on hold at one point but at least hopefully and a following wind there might be action. I live in hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.