Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Poor Lucy is having a prolonged episode of feather plucking - a condition that African Greys are sadly known for. It's a habit like biting your nails which can be triggered by all sorts of things. This is likely to be hormonal.
Yesterday morning when I uncovered her, the bottom of the cage was full of feathers making her look 'oven ready'
I've no real idea what has started this but had to do something so today, I made her a sock waistcoat.
You might remember when Stan (my other parrot) had his after an operation. 
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2803346903494822645
Stan is a real softie and allowed me to dress him without once trying to bite me. Lucy is the opposite and will inflict a very nasty wound if she feels threatened.
Although she is hand tame she doesn't like to be handled so it was a delicate operation to get her into a snug fitting cut down sock.
I managed it without getting injured but she squealed in fear the entire time. Heart breaking :-(
She looks very dapper and Im really pleased with the end result.
She will have to wear it for weeks, to allow the feathers to grow back,
I have to hope to break the habit so that when the sock is removed she won't have the urge to self mutilate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.