A time for everything

By turnx3

Autumn in all its glory!

Tuesday Nov 2
Roger and I had our Covid Moderna boosters late morning, then we drove into the city and met up with Laura at Spring Grove cemetery and arboretum - probably my favourite time of year to visit - and I think you can see why! The top left tree is a Katsura, native to Japan and China and it is one of the largest hardwoods in Asia. Katsura is the Japanese name for the tree. New leaves are reddish purple, mature to green and then the leaves turn apricot yellow in the fall before falling off. An interesting feature of the tree is the scent given off by the decaying fall leaves, which smells like caramel/burnt sugar or cotton candy. The shot below that caught my eye, because of the contrast of the dark green holly leaves and red berries against the golden Fall foliage. Beneath that are the Cypress knees bordering the edge of one of the lakes. I could have stood and gazed at the central tree for ages - the Orange against the bright blue sky was so striking, and the image is straight from my phone - unedited!
Laura had to leave before us and head into work, while we stayed a little longer, finding the beautiful reflective scene in the bottom right.
Whilst I felt feverish in the evening and during the night after my flu jab last week, I was fine today after the Moderna booster, while this evening Roger had a slight fever.
Step count: 14,706

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.