Fungi

I was out with the walking group this morning something I hadn't done for awhile.  It was forecast to be drizzly around 10am as we started and then clear up but unfortunately although it started dry we encountered a fairly wet patch midway through.  It was a lovely walk though especially since some of the autumn colours are starting to show now.  We had an easy start to the walk as we wandered along an old railway track skirting around the edge of a steep tree clad valley into Harpford Wood.  From here the old railway track continued almost into Tipton St John.  We then headed up a slow climb towards Fire Beacon Hill when the drizzle started. It didn't stop our enjoyment thought and we continued chattering as we climbed more steeply up to Hollow Head Cross.  I was keeping an eye out for fungi as we walked and seemed to have missed a few when talking to others.  I made up for it when along the track to Core Hill Wood where I spotted this little one nestling at the side of a tree.  By now it was a little misty in the woods and nicely atmospheric. I spotted a few more fungi as I raced to catch up with the others but managed a quick shot of them shown in the extras.  It was then a fairly easy walk back around Harpford Common and down the lane back to our cars.  A good mornings walk and great to catch up with some people I haven't seen for sometime.

Camera club tonight, I almost forgot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.