800 years of Loughborough Fair

Normally I would go to Loughborough Fair on my own because I would want to take photos. This year, I was very grateful to Len for taking me so that I didn't have to walk far.

We adjourned to Caffè Nero for a latte and a break which turned out to be very convenient because it was directly opposite the waltzer from which the Mayor of Charnwood opened the fair. The proceedings began with a fanfare from brass instrumentalists from the King's School.  The lads stood very stiffly all through the ensuing address.

But it is a year to celebrate. I described the origin of the market and fair in this post from 31st July.

Basil came with us and didn't seem at all fazed by the people, the noise and the lights. I saw several other dogs too.

I can only remember Len coming once before. He said the fair seemed bigger than he recalled, which I think is quite possible. There were many more food stalls as opposed to game stalls.

Extreme was in its usual place in the middle of the marketplace. I didn't take  my tripod this year to take slow motion pictures, just tried to keep as steady as possible for one second at a time.

Earlier this afternoon, I went to Anne's up the road to help her transfer a load of photos from her camera card on to her laptop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.