JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 314: Damp and grey

We have many days with beautiful skies here: peachy mornings as the sun rises over the Downs, dramatic midwinter sunrises when slaty clouds are streaked with vivid colours, deep blue twilights through silhouetted trees up the lane, sunny days when huge cumulus clouds sail up the valley, and soft summer evening skies brushed with wispy pinks and greys above the orchard. Today was not one of those days. Instead, we had another day of almost uniform grey sky and damp, seeping drizzle, mild but miserable. I walked up the hill, hoping this neutral background might serve to reveal the emerging winter shapes of trees, but they have not quite emerged yet. I liked the soft, misty layers of landscape, its autumn colour muted in the drizzle, but I struggled to capture them. I think I need to look into polarising filters.

I've done a few useful jobs though, including reaching the bottom of a very large mound of filing which has accumulated over a couple of years and I have tackled over a couple of weeks. P made delicious Tuscan bean soup for lunch, and J and I enjoyed more of the chocolate orange marble cake we baked on Monday (but didn't photograph). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.