Martinsbrezel

It's St. Martins Day and in the back yard of the Kindergarten nextdoors they are celebrating with music (for all), lanterns (the kids), Glühwein (for the adults) and and and...

I've seen and heard a horse (but missed St. Martin sitting on it somehow) and just this minute a wind ensemble of my old band is playing St. Martin songs. I have the balcony door open and I'm enjoying it from the distance.

Back in the last century when I was a member of this band I was in the midst of the celebrations every year. I remember the days very well, most years it was very cold and my fingers on the clarinet were freezing and felt like they would fall off any time. That was before one could get tipless gloves (I would have never dared to cut mine off; my mother would have killed me).

During the parade you had to really watch out for the horse droppings on the street. Difficult when it's dark, you're walking and playing an instrument the same time. Good things and good times to remember.
I'm lucky to live where I live and being able to somehow always be part of the celebrations, even if it is only from the distance.
-----------------------------------------------

The world's best bakery had this sign out today and of course I had to go in and get what you see in the extra:
- 1 small Martinsbrezel (for lunch) and
- 1 large(!) Martinsbrezel (for tomorrow and for the weekend; will go in the freezer, impossible to eat it in one day). Please not the ruler for an idea how big it is.

The Martinsbrezel doesn't taste like the average lye Brezel, it's much sweeter and more like a cake. It's delicious with butter and jelly. The only other time you can get this kind of Brezel is on New Years.

19:00; 2°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.