madowoi

By madowoi

Blue Blaze

Stand still. The trees ahead and bushes beside you
Are not lost. Wherever you are is called Here,
And you must treat it as a powerful stranger,
Must ask permission to know it and be known.
The forest breathes. Listen. It answers, 
I have made this place around you.
If you leave it, you may come back again, saying Here.
No two trees are the same to Raven.
No two branches are the same to Wren.
If what a tree or bush does is lost on you,
You are surely lost. Stand still. The forest knows
Where you are. You must let it find you.


Lost, by David Wagoner


Had off for Veteran's Day. Spent an enjoyable part of the afternoon hiking St. Sauveur, which I hadn't done in a long while, even though it's close to home. This hike has gotten extremely (even absurdly) popular in recent years. The lot is generally full, with cars lined up along each side of the road. It keeps tourists away from other spots I guess, but it has been disappointing watching the place become such a hot spot. I figured it would finally be a bit quiet, and for the most part it was. I wanted to take advantage of the opportunity, so I hiked a loop that involved heading halfway down the mountain and back up again. A bit tiring for a short hike but I'm glad I did it. 

Trails in the park are marked by cairns and blue blazes. This one was on a stunted pitch pine, which grow all over the south and west sides of the mountain. 

The extra is of a patch I found perched on the sign at the trail head. It seemed to fit the mood of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.