madowoi

By madowoi

Mown Field

When I came home on Monday most of the field had been mown, and by Tuesday the job was finished. It's been a few years since it was mowed last, and this fellow had the sense to do it in the fall. I've watched guys mow it in the summer followed by clouds of mosquitos and thought "well that looks like hell on earth." Apparently they did too, because I don't think the same person has ever come back to do the job twice. The field is very uneven and rocky, with substantial damp patches in areas. Not very easy on the equipment.

When I came home on Monday there were two bucks sizing each other up, with several does around the edges of the field pretending not to watch. Last night my wife stepped out onto the porch and could hear their heavy breathing and the sound of antlers cracking against each other. She said is was rather freaky.

This evening, now that its darker when I get home because of the time change, I arrived just in time to see the fog rolling in off the marsh. No deer though. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.