madowoi

By madowoi

Triad Beeches

I’m practicing my
         I-belong-here
         no-twig-snap
         no-leaf-rustle
         no-branch-crack
         see-all, know-all
         float-like-fog
         like-smoke
         pine-needle-soft
         forest walk. 
No one will know I’m coming.
No one will know when I’m gone.


Forest Walk, by Kristine O'Connell George


Another day with no school due to Covid spreading through the student body. I will probably wish I got some work done, but I treated it more like a snow day. The weather report calls for rain tomorrow, so I took advantage of the freakishly warm weather and went for a walk over the Triad. Coming down the east side I spent some time admiring this stand of beeches. From my vantage point I could just make out the occasional bikers passing along the carriage roads below and overhear their conversations. It felt sneaky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.