madowoi

By madowoi

Cognitive Distortion

At Land's End, the cold wind 
Blew against my face,
I thought how we live between
The divine and the commonplace.

All extremes must meet:
And imagination take fire
From the innocent and the lewd,
From continence and desire.

The living must descend 
And then ascend the slope;
Know joy, torment, despair;
The loss and return of hope.

All extremes must meet;
As some old poet has said:
Out of a little earth
And heaven, was Adam made.


Extremes Must Meet, by Madeline Gleason


Today's Mono Monday theme was "negative space." Coming down the stairs heading back to my room I was thinking about the negative space that appears in our heads sometimes. That's when I was struck by my shadow on the wall and snapped a quick photo. The slip of paper in my hand is a note reminding me to follow up with a colleague on our discussion about how to address a student's cognitive distortions -- such as black and white thinking. (See how everything just ties together so nicely sometimes? Though I know nobody else will understand how because they don't overthink things the way I do. That's why I won't get a heart for this challenge again (like always), since the judging isn't fair and I'm a lousy photographer anyway. But that's ok, I just want the people that do win to be really happy about it ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.