Rainbow Sunset

  "Did you know there's an eclipse tomorrow?"
          "No, it's actually today. This morning."
  ""Really? I thought it was going to start about 4:30."
          "I don't think it starts until 5:30 or 6:00."
  "That's not what I heard. I'm going to walk down the drive and check."

And I was glad she did. She came back inside to get me, and we watched the earth's shadow totally cover the moon just above the trees. It really did glow pretty red -- redder than other eclipses I remember from the past. My phone is not really capable of capturing such an event, but for the sake of posterity I've added an extra of what I could get.

Today was also election day, and it's hard to remember one that felt quite so foreboding. Personally, I do not care to link this with the eclipse, but I can see why some might. 

The main image was taken on the porch later in the evening after the sun went down. After enhancing the image I found it interesting to notice the full range of colors spreading above the horizon. Perhaps that's a more hopeful sign to end the day on. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.