madowoi

By madowoi

Quarry Reflection

Trees need not walk the earth 
For beauty or for bread; 
Beauty will come to them 
Where they stand. 
Here among the children of the sap 
Is no pride of ancestry: 
A birch may wear no less the morning 
Than an oak. 
Here are no heirlooms 
Save those of loveliness, 
In which each tree Is kingly in its heritage of grace. 
Here is but beauty’s wisdom 
In which all trees are wise.


from Trees Need Not Walk the Earth, by David Rosenthal


Not being a tree, I sometimes need to walk around to find beauty. This morning I found some while wandering around an old quarry off the Long Pond Fire Road. It was impressively quiet and still. I just couldn't leave the photos well enough alone - I really enjoy layering different filters on and creating something new from the images. I couldn't decide which of these two I liked best, so I went with the one my wife suggested as the main and added the other as an extra.

I also wandered out to an old camp along Long Pond and drowsed on a small dock which had been pulled out of the water for the winter. I was wishing I brought along a pillow and some blankets, it was so cozy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.