BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Ice Cream and Laptop Issues

Seems like this is a week to face irritating challenges, though my issues are very minor compared with the global threat posed by climate change to so many millions of people.  I hace been a user of Apple computers for 21 years with my first machine being a G3 laptop in 2000.  Last week I received delivery of a new one and within 2 days noticed it had a faulty screen.  Took it to the Apple store and they immediately agreed that it was faulty but because I had ordered online with memory and SSD sizes increased they didn't have an equivalent one in stock to switch out.  The problem of course being that I need my laptop on a daily basis for all kinds of work related functions plus my podcast recordings etc so I can't just send it back and be without for 2 weeks.  Their suggestion - that I get out my credit card and buy another one, transfer all data and then ship the bad one back myseilf.  I told them that given the brand new expensive laptop was faulty within 2 days, that Apple should arrange for a replacement to be sent to the local store and I would then go in and do the exchange.  I now have to wait for up to 3 days for a 'senior' member of the Apple community to get back to me to sort this out, having spent most of the afternoon wasting time on the fruitless pursuit of customer serivce.

So I went home and made ice cream - the picture is from inside the ice cream maker we got years ago and which has sat mostly gathering dust, but when I have used it, the results are pretty good!  This was made with some cookie dough I had made for the grandkids and we didn't use it all.

Apart from that, managed to avert food waste disaster at the bakery with a timely visit from our electrician who switched out a faulty breaker that would have probably failed overnight and led to much waste of the tasty BG treats our bakery had created and were sitting in the fridge.

Small fry irritations in the grand scheme of things, but nevertheless, my day in a nutshell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.