With fronds like these . . .

. . . . who needs anemones! 

It's rained almost all day today though now, at 3.45, it appears to have stopped and a bright patch has appeared in the west! (Edit at 16.15 - thick grey sky all over!)

I haven't been out beyond the garden - I've spent a lot of time mucking about with various email accounts and have ended up in a worse state than when I began! There's been a lot of online cursing and threatening about PlusNet, but though it appears to be working it's still very erratic.

I did venture down the steps earlier to take a picture of my tree fern to send to a friend. It was drizzly and breezy, but I did manage one that wasn't too bad, so I might as well use it as a Blip! I'm sure I've used it several times before, but it's the usual species seen outdoors in the UK, Dicksonia antarctica, from SE Australia and Tasmania. They survive fairly well on this coast without the need for frost protection, though the wind can cause the fronds to dry out sometimes. I planted mine down at the bottom of the slope, behind the garage and a few feet above road level to keep it out of the wind as much as possible. It must be really enjoying this wet weather! Our bungalow is about 40ft above to the left. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.