JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 316: wet leaves

It was damp and gloomy. I went outside for ten minutes before lunch, because I thought there would be even less light later. It was also windy. With ISO at 1600 (the maximum on my old camera) and wide apertures, shutter speeds were still too low, so many of the photos were blurred by wind or camera shake, particularly those focusing on small flowers. However, this one probably fits into the "leafy, twiggy" aspects of Flower Friday. This shrub outside our dining room window has been a delight for several weeks now, its large leaves transitioning from green through reds, browns and golds, often with more than one colour on a single leaf and with clearly defined contrasting veins; they feature in J's Autumn Leaves animation (which is now on display in the care centre exhibition in Folkestone).

I have achieved almost nothing today from my long list of urgent jobs. I have to remind myself that I have fed J three (very slow) meals and executed fifteen hoist transfers so far (with three more to go); a transfer from wheelchair to commode chair means hoisting four times, from chair to bed to remove/adjust clothing, then to commode, then back again. It's slow, and for many years I have avoided it as far as possible, lifting J a lot because I still could; but now any pressure on her back triggers a lot of pain and lifting no longer feels safe. I don't readily "count" all this as something I've done with my day, though I know I should. 

I've just heard the weather forecast. More mist and murk tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.