JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 317: a new book

I hadn't bought a book for quite a long time - I keep telling myself I have enough unread books to keep me busy for a very long time, not to mention all the ones I'd like to read again, and I've been trying not to buy things I don't need and to buy second hand as far as possible. I've been interested in this one for a while, so when it appeared for 68 pence, hard cover, in Amazon Marketplace, it seemed too good an opportunity to miss - and it's clearly not been read, it's in perfect, new condition inside. Now I just have to find time to read it. It won't be a quick read, but it looks fascinating and I'm looking forward to it. The cover design is the landscape from Gainsborough's famous Mr and Mrs Andrews, in the National Gallery.

I've not had much time or motivation for photography or much else today. J slept very badly because of pain in her arms and hands, so we both had less than four hours sleep. I've coped with five hours for years, as she's never been very settled at night, but I struggle with anything less. Another damp and dreary day discouraged me from trying to do anything outside, and I've never really worked out how to take decent photos in artificial light indoors. However, I have done some very overdue cleaning and even dismantled the head of the vacuum cleaner to remove the matted hairs tangled round the brushes, so I'm feeling mildly virtuous. I hope your day was more exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.