Afternoon trees (or what a difference a day makes)

Sunday's weather could not have been more different from Saturday's. The extra shows much the same view from the balcony as I posted yesterday, when the downs were lost in mist. It was a perfectly beautiful autumn day, so it's a pity I didn't get closer to outside than the balcony, but I really wasn't up to it. This was the last half hour before the sun dipped below the hilltop behind me, so the light was wonderfully saturated and golden.

Later, J and I watched Woody Allen's Midnight in Paris, a fun time-shift romp through 1920s Paris literary and artistic circles with lots of gorgeous shots of places I love. It was suitably distracting and cheered me up considerably, despite a few nostalgic tears. Paris was our last holiday before the pandemic, a few days in August 2019, and I lived there for a year in 1983-4 and have returned many times, so it holds a lot of good and happy memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.