Bedside cabinet

Bed does not figure much in my life other than as a place I long to be able to sleep, which doesn't happen nearly as much as I should like, but over the past few days I've been lying down whenever possible and despite my general exhaustion I have occasionally not fallen asleep, so it has assumed unusual significance in my days. I've been intending to read The Handmaid's Tale for about thirty-five years, and J bought it from my Christmas wish list a couple of years ago; I have been trying to catch up with some of my half-read non-fiction books since I finished Summer, the last of Ali Smith's seasonal quartet, but I knew I needed an engrossing story, and this has engaged me from the first sentence. I have not seen the film or the television series, and although I was aware of the premise I don't know the story, so it's new and gripping. I've not got far yet, but it will make me want to stay awake at bedtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.