Peonies for sale …

….. ….. at the Remarkable Market this morning. I loved the old display unit too - they looked wonderful. The sales lady was so helpful, telling me the name of the dark red blooms I bought, and when to start adding icecubes, to keep the water cold.

There have been more peaceful protests today, in Auckland, Wellington & Christchurch mainly, but also smaller towns. People are wanting the Govt to stop interfering, to let Kiwis abroad come back home, to let Covid-19 spread as indeed its going to, and to stop the awful mandating & impending traffic light system. The Health system in NZ is very run down, through poor governance from both sides. It’s far from the excellent standards we had when I was growing up. We probably now have the worst rates of ICU beds in the OECD. The Māori population in particular is so distrustful of the Govt & understandably so. They’re not the only ones either.

My newly arrived friend M. from Christchurch, plus my daughter, son-in-law & I have just been out for a celebratory welcoming dinner in Arrowtown for M. We went to the old Stables and had a wonderful time out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.