Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Falling

To be honest, I’m very relieved to have anything to blip after this afternoon’s events. 

G has a full day orchestra rehearsal, so following a lazy morning when I do very little, I eventually manage to get myself out of the house to visit our local camera store - a really excellent independent establishment.

Unfortunately, en route I manage one of those comic book kerb trip-ups that launches me into the air for what seems like several seconds before I splat-land on the pavement with zero dignity. My biggest fear is for my camera which, together with my outstretched hands and my right knee, takes the brunt of my fall. 

Fortunately - or unfortunately, depending on your viewpoint - there is nobody around to see me lying prone, and gingerly I get myself to my feet. I’m OK - but for some grazing on my hands and, as I later discover, my knee. My camera seems equally OK, though it has lost the cover of the control dial which is lying forlornly on the pavement. I’m also both surprised and relived to find an intact iPhone in my pocket. 

I continue to Cambrian Photography - I’d like to go home, but it seems sensible that they give my 90D the once over. I must admit to being a bit teary by now - and though it’s not the place for tea and sympathy, they do get me a glass of water! 

The expert verdict is that the camera is indeed OK - it’s a fine endorsement for the robust nature of this camera! 

By now, I’ve recovered, so it’s on with the business of buying an ND filter for my foray into long exposure. It’s a lengthy process as various options are explained, but I come away with a single filter for now and hopefully I’ll have the chance to put it to use over the next week or so - though it may be a while before any of the results are blipworthy! 

From here, it’s down to the beach here in Colwyn Bay - my first visit in what seems like months. It’s too early for a sunset, but in any case this is not a sunset beach. The clouds are heavy in the west, and to the north - on the horizon - there is only the hint of reflected pink and yellow. The beach itself is shadow, sunlight reaching only to the incoming tide, the wind turbines shining bright far out to sea. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.