But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

POT at WOT.

I'm beginning to be a bit of a plagiarist and just blipping other people's art but time is short at the moment so I'm struggling to find new subjects.

This is the inn sign of the "Post Office Tavern at Westbury-on-Trym," although it is a free house, meaning that it can sell beers from any brewery, it used to be owned by "George's Beers", a local brewery, a fact which is spelt out in the brickwork above the windows. When 'I were a lad,' all the pubs in Bristle were owned by George's and the town was well known for being the most sober city in England.
I was, of course, far too young to know what the beer tasted like but, had I known, I would have realised why sobriety was so prevalent. In fact I was well into my thirties when the 'Real Ale' movement became popular and I discovered that beer was actually a pleasant drink. As I didn't develop a tolerance for alcohol in my youth I am now in the fortunate, or unfortunate position, depending on one's point of view, of being able to get very drunk very cheaply; one pint of 'heavy' sees me distinctly merry while two renders me incapable of walking home.

The hexagonal letter-box illustrated is a Penfold box, designed in the 1860s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.