Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Mahmoud’s wedding

So happy to be able to attend Mahmoud’s wedding today in Cairo. Marriage here is so different in many ways but they were lucky to have more choice in who they marry than many. The wedding was a two-hour event at the Shorta Club in Zamalek, the Police Club. It was outdoors and a lovely evening. Traditional music, a Tanoura dancer and those amazing sounds the women make, followed by some dancing before the serious process of signing papers. Juice, chocolates and more dancing followed before it was all over at 7pm. I’m happy I came, lovely to meet his mum, his brother looked after me and met so many - very much made to feel welcome and got the biggest hug from Mahmoud when he saw me - I consider him one of my two Egyptian brothers.
Caught a taxi some of the way back to my friend’s apartment - next to my old place, walked the last part then collapsed on the sofa.
Earlier in the day I met my old neighbour then, by chance, I saw the young son of my bowab (caretaker / doorman). He quickly recognised me and before I knew it I was invited in for a lunch with the daughters - so kind. One of them was also kind enough to come with me while I organised a SIM card etc. She’s 20 now - same age as my niece. It was good to see her and have a walk around Zamalek - not too many changes, thankfully.
A busy but great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.