earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Castle Crag

A note for my journal here. After a long day out on the fells I found I was more  mentally than physically tired. The plan was to have an evening of writing but that didn't happen. I even struggled to focus on doing any reading. I should have just given both away rather than get frustrated with myself. I think it's a matter of all the processing in the brain that's required when running over difficult, mostly rocky terrain, especially after a day of rain when everything was so wet. I didn't think anything of it once. I now realise how much mental effort is required. When running with Forrest, as soon as the ground becomes difficult, I quickly lose distance on him. I'm just not able to solve all those little problems of foot placement quickly enough.

The legs felt better than expected today. Tired but no real aches or pains. I enjoyed a very gentle run up and down Castle Crag, then on to the ridge over High Spy and Maiden Moor before descending to Grange and through the woods to meet up with E who's been staying at a hostel beside Derwent Water. For once, I was almost exactly on time and didn't keep her waiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.