earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Castlegate, Penrith

A day of low cloud and drizzle scuppered any adventures in the hills so we did a bit of town walking, exploring Penrith and Appleby. I'd never visited Penrith before. There were parts where the town centre was quite run down but others parts which looked quite prosperous. There was an amazing number of little independents, with hardly a chainstore in sight.

Later, a little circular walk along the river from Appleby was thwarted by seeing a footpath crossing and not looking closely enough to realise there was no bridge. The stepping stones were almost completely submerged. My map-reading eyes are going.

I didn't have to wait for a suitably colour co-ordinated shopper to pass by this point. The young woman literally appeared out of nowhere just as I was taking a shot of this frontage. I love a bit of net curtain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.