Through the wire

This morning I did something I've not done for years. When I used to work in an office I used to take pictures of things on my way to and from work. Often it was something in the village or alternatively a flower in someone's garden in town. I've been working from home for just over 4 years now and I don't have the daily commute any more. Today, now I've got a new camera, I remembered to take it with me on the morning dog walk, and this blip is one of the few remaining roses in someone's garden.

After the dog walk it was time for DIY. We carefully took the drain on my mother-in-law's shed apart and ran the gutter drain from one side to the other side, so that they now drain together. At the moment the water ends up in the public sewer, but when we can get a 40 mm diverter, we'll combine the two sides of the shed to filling up a water butt. Annoyingly the local DIY shop only had the wider house size diverters in stock, not the smaller shed/greenhouse one we have here.

I also installed a small solar powered motion-sensitive night light. We have two before from Lidl, they are pretty cheap and so far quite reliable. You don't have to faff about with mains, which is good when it's a retrofit. This one points away from the street towards the garage, so it won't be set off by people in the street and is actually useful when you want to go to the garage when you want to get something. There is a public street light which illuminates the front of the house and drive, so that doesn't need extra light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.