Flying ears

This morning we nipped into the shopping centre to get galettes and crepes for lunch. While my wife looked for something I waited an noticed that Carrefour are selling novelty Xmasware at the moment, including hats with LED lights in them, that can't be washed nor the battery be replaced. Given all the problems in the world that's a sad indictment of humanity. As I was reading the label I realised it was in English not French as it's imported from China to England and then exported to France...


We then went into Darty as we were passing to see if they had any cases for my new camera - it's larger than the old camera so won't fit in the same case. I didn't have my camera with me as I didn't think they had anything interesting (I'd already checked on-line before setting out). In fact they had a good selection, so when we went out later on we went back with my camera to try the various bags and pouches and I got a half decent LowePro camera pouch. When I got back I checked and the case I bought is on their web site but with a description you wouldn't think of using...


After lunch we went to our house to check the post (nothing) and a large bag of glass was still in the lane abandoned for over a week, so we picked it up and dropped it off at the recycling centre. Someone must have had really odd party: three 1l bottles of vodka; two family sized jars of Nutella; two family sized jars of Bolognaise sauce; a squillion bottles of bear; and one pot of rhubarb jam. The Lidl shopping bag was brand new and clean. I don't understand why you bother to put all the glass in a bag and walk somewhere to abandon it? Is it really that hard to go another half a kilometre and put the contents in a glass recycling bank?



Anyhow in the afternoon we took the fluffy terror to the beach, where he morphed into the muddy terror...! Rothéneuf harbour is a large bay (1 x 0.5 km) that forms a natural sandy harbour, on a big tide like last weekend it would totally drain, but today was only a 2 metre tide, so it was more like a lake. On most of it's circumference you can walk on sand beaches, and there are a few rocky spots where you need to scramble. We managed to walk for over 2 km and my mother-in-law was able to negotiate one set of rocks too.



He found a washed up jelly fish and barked loudly at it to let us know it was there - and he even managed not to prod it with his noise, which he is often keen to do. He was very happy running at the sea, and splashing a little and as you can see here he loves to run with his ears all a flap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.