Hey ho, the wind and the rain

Cristina and Seth gifted me a full hour massage, in thanks for my time with the children. It was heaven. The masseuse, a strong and very intelligent woman named Olga from Kazakhstan, pummelled my neck and shoulders into buttery relaxation and bliss. If I were a rich woman I would get a massage from Olga every month. 

On the way home, the wind was wild just before the rain came, and I thought of Feste's song in Twelfth Night, the title of this blip. That reminded me of Gunnar Björnstrand's final performance of that song. He was a genius, in my opinion (I think Winter Light was his masterpiece, but he was remarkable in everything he chose), and apparently a wonderful human being as well. After performing in most of Bergman's films, he delivered a marvelous final performance, a bit of absurdity in Fanny och Alexander, filmed when he was 72 and suffering from dementia. There's a lovely youtube of the filming of that bit; it shows the tenderness of Bergman's regard for one of the actors who made his work so successful, and it shows Björnstrand's determination to deliver what Bergman wanted, despite his dementia and having to sit on a sawhorse with a lit candle on his head. Acting: a grand profession.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.