lemonzest

By lemonzest

Splat

I spent the day mostly mopping up after the dogs but managed to finally start two experiments. One to make some porcelain clay for throwing and the second is a first attempt at making a glaze base. Both have been tested. The porcelain seems to have promising characteristics. I brought the wheel in, having cleaned all the other clay off it, thoroughly and tried it. It may need to mature a little, as well as to lose a little moisture. It mostly contains china clay, silica and feldspar and it was a pain to mix by hand. I have a few small lumps of white putty like material. The glaze mixture is relatively similar but without the extra silica. I will have to wait till morning to see what I have achieved, if anything. I didn't try putting any oxides in it as I want to see how it works on its own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.