Penicuik House

My crown fell off on Thursday. It was a temporary crown put on over ten years ago, it was not nice-looking, so I was quite pleased.

Over the years I've had a succession of dental work involving caps and crowns as my teeth have been a bit of a mess since I was 13, when a hockey ball hit me smack in the mouth, breaking one front tooth and cracking its root, so it died. No crown would hold and I had a plate until eventually a lovely dentist made a cantilever bridge of three teeth on the right side. Super.

However the crown on the left fell off and could not be replaced as that root was also cracked, so I have a plate again, but for that one. Next along is this temporary one so joy! if that's gone I could have another bridge, to match the right hand side. I went to the dentist today, and the root is sound.

But he won't do a bridge. I told him (he already knows, of course) I've got one, I know how it works. But my options are 1. replace the horrible one, 2. have a new crown, costed at £500 (and still have the plate) or 3. add a new tooth to the plate. I resisted weeping in front of him, said I'd think about it and took my gap home.

So I grumped a bit over lunch and thought my only option is number 3 so made an appointment for next week and we went down to Penicuik House to walk off my frustration. The sun was setting as we turned our backs on the house.

So, excuse me if I don't smile for a while, you don't want to see the gap  and I don't feel like it right now.


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.