Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

24th Street

(16/11/21)
Yet another back-blip! :(

G took herself to school today and was home just at the time I was ready to start work (9 AM). Monday's are the best days this academic year.

An easy day. I managed to create another video for Advent in under two hours (a record), and then it was time to get dressed to meet up with friend Jessica for dinner. 

Back in June, I won £100 for dinner in an Asian street-food restaurant at the Dusit. We finally redeemed the voucher today. I'm not a fan of Asian cuisine, so was relieved when they had a few Italian options on the menu. The food, I have to say, was delicious. All three of us loved what we ordered. Towards the end, I got to share with Jessica the reason for my win. I had written in about an epic road trip that my family had done in 1978, driving overland from Munich to Bandar Abbas. She hadn't heard the story and was impressed. The things we did in the good old days!! :))

Home and straight to bed as G has another super early start, and I'm going to drive her to school.

My main picture is the view from the window we were sitting at. It was a beautifully clear evening, and we loved seeing the city, but the traffic! It's back to 2008 levels. All those white lights you see have just been through the toll gate and are still stuck in slow-moving traffic! The extra was taken by the waitress who looked after us. It was nice to be at the receiving end of genuinely good service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.