Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Spanish City

A very early Blip today as I won’t have a chance later.  I’m up here in Whitley Bay for a funeral and will have the long drive home again afterwards.  But before that, I’ve already met up this morning for a coffee with my old friend whose brother died, and will shortly be having a mini Blipmeet with Shygirl73.  A nice walk along the promenade this morning; it is really attractive and so much better than when I lived here nearly 40 years ago.  The downside is that all the bars and nightclubs that were here then have gone; we used to think nothing of leaving the house at 11pm for a night out but there doesn’t appear to be any nightlife here now.  The picture is of the Spanish City; when I lived here it was a fairly run down amusement arcade but as part of the sea front improvements it has been redeveloped retaining the facade, and the busy road in front has been taken away to be replaced by a welcoming pedestrian area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.